top of page

The Queen and her favorite
The King and his favorite

Two Filmed concert / La Monnaie-De Munt / March 2021
Elisabetta, Regina d'Inghilterra,
  Rossini 
La Favorita, Donizetti

The Queen and her favorite The King and his favorite Two Filmed concert / La Monnaie-De Munt / Mars 2021 Elisabetta, Regina d'Inghilterra, Rossini  La Favorita, Donizetti

Visual concept and editing           OLIVIER FREDJ

Musical direction         FRANCESCO LANZILOTTA

Lights                    URS SCHONEBAUM                           

Capture production           SIMON VAN ROMPAY

THE QUEEN AND HER FAVORITE

Elisabetta                       SALOME JICIA
Leicester                 SERGEY ROMANOVSKY
Matilde                      LENNEKE RUITEN
Norfolk                          ENEA SCALA
Enrico                VALENTINA MASTRANGELO
The Child                       NEHIR HASRET

THE KING AND HIS FAVORITE

Alfonso                       VITTORIO PRATO
Leonora                  RAFFAELLA LUPINACCI
Baldassare                      LUCA TITTOTO
Fernando                        ENEA SCALA
Ines                  VALENTINA MASTRANGELO
Don Gasparo                      GAVAN RING
The Child                  ALEXANDRA HERZOG

Kings, queens and their favorites ... Or how, in these times of pandemic, our artists are not giving up. Since  Bastarda , the ambitious Donizetti project (on the life of Elizabeth I) is postponed, the team is setting up a new project related to the first, which will be offered to you in streaming form. In two evenings, you can enjoy, from your living room, the best moments of Elisabetta, regina d'Inghilterra de Rossini and  The favorita  by Donizetti, through the eyes of a privileged spectator - a child who rejoiced to attend these performances. With the bel canto repertoire as a common thread and a fabulous cast on stage, this double production further explores the conflict between love and power through emblematic figures like Elizabeth I.

THE QUEEN AND HER FAVORITE

In Elisabetta, regina d'Inghilterra (1815), Gioachino Rossini's first opera for the Teatro San Carlo in Naples, we find Elizabeth Tudor: after a military victory in Scotland, she learns that Leicester, her protégé, got married in secret. Scenes of betrayal and sacrifice ensue, but finally Elizabeth forgives her favorite and tries to forget that she is a woman, before being queen: “Fuggi amor da questo seno / non turbar più il viver mio. (May love flee my heart and no longer torment my life.)

THE KING AND HIS FAVORITE

Outside Italy, La favorita is better known in the initial French version that Gaetano Donizetti composed for the Paris Opera (1840). With a few details, the two works tell the same story. With the power struggles between Church and State as a backdrop, Alfonso XI of Castile seeks to get rid of his legitimate wife in favor of Leonora, his mistress and “favorite”. But the usual fine lieto of early 19th century operas (see  Elisabetta, regina d'Inghilterra ) has meanwhile given way to a tragic outcome ...

 

Elisabeth I
press to zoom
Covid Streaming
press to zoom
Francesco Lanzilotta
press to zoom
La Monnaie De Munt
press to zoom
urs Schonebaum
press to zoom
Bel canto
press to zoom
1/1

Bel Canto concerts

Bel Canto concerts

Bel Canto concerts
Search video...
The King and his Favourite | Trailer

The King and his Favourite | Trailer

01:00
Play Video
The Queen and her Favourite | Trailer

The Queen and her Favourite | Trailer

01:01
Play Video

director

bottom of page

The Queen and her favorite
The King and his favorite

Two Filmed concerts / La Monnaie-De Munt / Mars 2021
Elisabetta, Regina d'Inghilterra, Rossini 
La Favorita, Donizetti

The Queen and her favorite The King and his favorite Two Filmed concert / La Monnaie-De Munt / Mars 2021 Elisabetta, Regina d'Inghilterra, Rossini  La Favorita, Donizetti

Visual concept and editing                  OLIVIER FREDJ

Direction musicale               FRANCESCO LANZILOTTA

Lumières                                    URS SCHONEBAUM                                                   

Réalisation captation                 SIMON VAN ROMPAY

THE QUEEN AND HER FAVOURITE

Elisabetta                                           SALOME JICIA
Leicester                               SERGEY ROMANOVSKY
Matilde                                         LENNEKE RUITEN
Norfolk                                                ENEA SCALA
Enrico                             VALENTINA MASTRANGELO
The Child                                          NEHIR HASRET

THE KING AND HIS FAVOURITE

Alfonso                                          VITTORIO PRATO
Leonora                                 RAFFAELLA LUPINACCI
Baldassare                                        LUCA TITTOTO
Fernando                                            ENEA SCALA
Ines                                VALENTINA MASTRANGELO
Don Gasparo                                        GAVAN RING
The Child                                 ALEXANDRA HERZOG

Les rois, les reines et leurs favoris… Ou comment, en ces temps de pandémie, nos artistes ne laissent pas tomber les bras. Puisque Bastarda, l’ambitieux projet Donizetti (sur la vie d’Elizabeth I) est reporté, l’équipe met sur pied un nouveau projet apparenté au premier, qui vous sera proposé sous forme de streaming. En deux soirées, vous pourrez profiter, depuis votre salon, des meilleurs moments d’Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra de Rossini et de La favorita de Donizetti, à travers le regard d’une spectatrice privilégiée – une enfant qui se réjouissait d’assister à ces représentations. Avec le répertoire bel canto comme fil conducteur et une fabuleuse distribution sur scène, cette double production explore plus avant le conflit entre amour et pouvoir à travers des figures emblématiques comme Elizabeth I.

THE QUEEN AND HER FAVOURITE

Dans Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra (1815), le premier opéra de Gioachino Rossini pour le Teatro San Carlo à Naples, nous retrouvons Elizabeth Tudor : après une victoire militaire en Écosse, elle apprend que Leicester, son protégé, s’est marié en secret. S’ensuivent des scènes de trahison et de sacrifice, mais finalement Elizabeth pardonne à son favori et tente d’oublier qu’elle est femme, avant d’être reine : « Fuggi amor da questo seno / non turbar più il viver mio. » (Que l’amour fuie mon cœur et ne tourmente plus ma vie.)

THE KING AND HIS FAVOURITE

En dehors de l’Italie, La favorita est mieux connue dans la version française initiale que Gaetano Donizetti en avait composée pour l’Opéra de Paris (1840). À quelques détails près, les deux œuvres racontent la même histoire. Avec, en toile de fond, les luttes de pouvoir entre l’Église et l’État, Alfonso XI de Castille cherche à se débarrasser de son épouse légitime au profit de Leonora, sa maîtresse et « favorite ». Mais l’habituelle lieto fine des opéras du début du XIXe siècle (voir Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra) a entre-temps cédé la place à un dénouement tragique…

 

Elisabeth I
press to zoom
Covid Streaming
press to zoom
Francesco Lanzilotta
press to zoom
La Monnaie De Munt
press to zoom
urs Schonebaum
press to zoom
Bel canto
press to zoom
1/1

metteur en scène